– EEA and Norway grants



The EEA Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway towards a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.
There are two overall objectives: reduction of economic and social disparities in Europe, and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.

The three donor countries cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). The donors have provided €3.3 billion through consecutive grant schemes between 1994 and 2014.

For the period 2014-2021, the EEA Grants amount to €1.55 billion. The priorities for this period are:

1.Innovation, Research, Education, Competitiveness and Decent Work

2.Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction

3.Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy

4.Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights

5.Justice and Home Affairs

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contributions are based on their GDP.
Eligibility for the Grants mirror the criteria set for the EU Cohesion Fund aimed at member countries where the Gross National Income (GNI) per inhabitant is less than 90% of the EU average.

EEA and Norway Grants –

Working together for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are providing €2.8 billion in funding to 15 EU and EEA member states in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics for the period 2014-2021.
The EEA and Norway Grants have their basis in the EEA Agreement. Under this agreement, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are part of the EU internal market. The agreement sets out a common goal of working together to reduce social and economic disparities in Europe. For this purpose, the donors have established the EEA and Norway Grants.
The beneficiary countries are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.
Through the EEA and Norway Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway aim at contributing to, among other things, growth and jobs, tackle climate change and energy dependency, and reduce poverty and social exclusion.
Beneficiaries are local, regional and national authorities, educational and research institutions, students, teachers and researchers, non-governmental organisations, small- and medium-sized enterprises and social partners.
Back to top